Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, this is my first time posting here, and I'm quite nervous! My doggie, Shenanigan is about one and a half years old, two in October, we believe. On the Fourth of July, he threw up bile several times. Then, he crept into his cage, and would not show interest in a thing. He wouldn't eat anything, was very lethargic, and wouldn't drink. We took him into the emergency vet that day, and he perked up a little. He got excited at the other dogs there, but he had very watery diarrhea in the parking lot.

We then took him into the vet to be checked out. He lied there abnormally lethargically. (He's usually extremely playful and energetic! In a new place, he's crazy and out of control!) The vet felt around his body, and anus to check for anything stuck in his body-- like a toy or other foreign objects. He said nothing seemed off there. Then, my parents decided to get him the IV thing (I don't remember exactly what it's called, he had like a sac of water on the side of his body). He perked up a lot after that, but still was lethargic and crept into bed. The next day he was very, very energetic, just about his old self for awhile, and it was almost like a relapse at the same time as the day before! I was so upset, and we almost went back to the vet before he sprung up again when my aunt came over.