Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time owning a Retriever and it has been a blast!! She retrieves everything in sight and is currently learning how to put them back in its place. She is the gentlest, calmest, most loving dog!! Even when she has something she knows she shouldn't she comes and shows me she has it and has a look on her face that says, "Sorry I just can't help myself so here you go - take it". :)

I have a question though about why does she put her paws up on my arms when I'm petting her? I wasn't sure if it's a sign of dominance or she just likes sitting up on her back legs. I've noticed a friend's retriever does it as well and wasn't sure if it's just a breed thing or something I should discourage?

Thanks!!!

·
Now Caue's Dad Too!
37,489 Posts
Sorry I don't have an answer for you but my Caue like to have a paw on me at all times. Oakly just likes to be touching me in some way. I've always assumed it was because they want to know if I move.

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
We always joke that ours is petting us back. Not sure what the real answer is.

·
Chester & Murphy's Mom
7,464 Posts
Our Chester retrieves everything too. He does drop it now but I don't think we can get him to put the rug back by the front door or the pillow back on the couch. Most of the time I think he does just because he wants to play. Usually I use his pesky play as a small training session...maybe a sit stay or down stay while I put whatever he takes back where it belongs. Chester has that face too "sorry Mom" face.

·
Registered
61 Posts