Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello I’ve already posted a few times on here but I’m trying to decide between two breeders. One of which is Berryhill Retrievers and the other is Carova Golden Retrievers. It seems to me that Carova is the more well known reputable breeder and on my other post it seemed there were a few issues with Berryhill. But Berryhill was recommended to me by another breeder. Also Carovas would cost about a total of 3500 and Berryhill around 1800. I’m new to this and I’m not sure how to check health clearances/if I’m doing it right. I just want to make sure I’m making the right choice. Is the higher cost worth it?? If anyone can help that would be great thanks!

Berryhill: http://berryhillretrievers.bravesites.com/
Carova: https://carovagoldenretrievers.com/

·
Registered
7,332 Posts
I don't find clearances on the Berryhill bitch- BerryHill None of Your Beeswax (honey).
So that one is for me a complete no-go.

I had some issues reading through the Carova site, and figuring out who actually owned the bitches- I left the site still unsure if it was a fair co-own or one of those guardian things. The dogs appear to have all their clearances, though I would point out that neither sire nor dam of the stud dog on the litter had an elbow clearance, maternal grandparents no clearances and really just spotty in general on the whole bottom half of his pedigree. https://www.ofa.org/advanced-search?f=sr&appnum=1304624 only you know if $3k is too much for your budget- it strikes me as a high price for puppies out of unfinished dam without generations of clearances both sideways and back on both sire and dam personally but that's my own opinion.

·
Golden Ret Enthusiast
1,833 Posts