Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Layla will be 14 months old in ten days.....she has always had sensitive stomach and was underweight.....i have been feeding her Royal Canin Prescription food for a few months and this has done the trick....her bowel movements are fine and she has gained weight....still small but up to 52 pounds....i am wondering weather its time to start feeding her adult food...the prescription food is very expensive and i believe has kept her weight down.......is it suggested to change at this time?? i was looking at purina pro plus for adult dogs over 50 pounds........any input is appreciated.....

·
Registered
569 Posts
I switched at 12 months but I’ll probably switch with the new puppy coming around 9-10. By 12 months she was looking a lil’ chubby but as soon as I switched within a week or two she was looking better. She’s 59-60 pounds.

·
Super Moderator Leader
45,344 Posts
If you're thinking of using PPP, which variety are you looking at?

I order PPP SSS from Amazon, I have it on subscription, Amazon has a better price than any of the stores in my area and online.

·
Kate
20,585 Posts
I switched to adult food at 6 months with both my youngest dogs. Once their teeth come in, there's really no reason to continue feeding puppy food.

My older dog who is the dad of the puppies - was switched at 4 months.

Note - my dogs all have cast iron guts and have not dealt with sensitive stomach problems.

IF I had problems with my dog having sensitive stomach issues - I'd probably baby more with the prescription diet (RC Gastro which is probably what you are feeding).

Only time I had a dog poop issues while feeding a kibble - was when I attempted to feed Pro Plan Sensitive Skin and Stomach. LOL. Huge poops and gas. Switched to a different brand and all that went away.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If you're thinking of using PPP, which variety are you looking at?