Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I was watching puppy videos on youtube and I stumbled across one called "What I Wish I Knew Before I Got A Puppy". This got me thinking about what others wished they knew before they got a golden retriever puppy. What did you wish you knew?

·
Registered
162 Posts
It is so. Much. Work.

Puppy Blues is very real and common. You may seriously wonder what in the world you were thinking for bringing a puppy home and you might even regret it. Don’t worry; it gets better with time and is well worth it in the end.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I'm fairly new to this myself (I have a 16 week old puppy right now), but one thing I wish I knew before I brought Robin home was that puppies being overtired/overstimulated is a real thing. I remember there were days during the first week where we didn't stick to a rigid schedule with him - we just sort of took him out of his crate whenever he woke up, and played with him whenever we felt like he wanted to play. Then, we would try to put him to sleep at night, and he would scream and cry endlessly, and we were confused - we had played with him so much, how was he not tired? We grew really frustrated with him - it felt like we spent our whole day playing with him, so one night, we put him in and just ignored his antics, and within 10 or 15 minutes, he had settled down and fallen right asleep. He slept for many hours.

I think the moral of that story is that puppies are like newborns - keeping them on a very rigid schedule during the day will be better for them and for you. Now, we have a schedule that looks something like this:
  • 9 AM - 11 AM: breakfast, followed by playtime, followed by a short 30 minute walk around the neighborhood
  • 11 AM - 1 PM: crate
  • 1PM - 2:30 PM: lunch, followed by playtime
  • 2:30 - 4 PM: crate
  • 4 - 4:45 PM: walk around the neighborhood
  • 4:45 - 6 PM: crate