Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
New to Puppy training
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Im new to this i could use any help.

I know you are supposed to give the puppy food three times a day for only 10minutes and then take him to potty after 15-20mins. Ok ive been doing this fine. What about the water? should i take the water out the same as his bowl of food? ive been doing it this way for now but its just that after i give him his last meal (food and water) i take him outside for potty and then we play for a bit and he comes in the house really thirsty. And if i give him water ill need it to take out again for peeing. im so confused

Please help and thanks this forum is great

Btw - Sam is 3 months old

·
Registered
139 Posts
You should always offer him clean, fresh water. The only time I wouldn't allow him to have water would be about an hour before bed until he gets a little older.

Reese is now 2 and we have a filtered water bowl down for her at all times. Sometimes she will drink and drink and drink before bed but never bugs us to get up in the middle of the night.

As far as feeding schedule - Definitely feed three times a day. Once he is full grown, three times a day won't be needed. Be careful you are only allowing the recommended feeding guidelines. Over feeding can cause your puppy to grow too fast, which can be harmful to his bones in the long run. Of course, puppies do need a lot of extra nutrition at a young age, but overfeeding can be harmful to his health.

·
Nancy
7,493 Posts
I've never restricted water, even at night during potty training. Hank never peed in his crate and was sleeping through the night within a week or so of bringing him home.

We have 3 bowls of water available, 2 outdoors, 1 indoors.

·
Registered
1,190 Posts