Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is getting ridiculous. I started training 15 week Finn with a trainer last week, and while he was here, I had the labs locked up in the bedroom- (We have tons on snow on the ground and it's usually about 20 degrees, so outside, is pretty much out for now-) Well, the labs have figured out that Finn is doing things that are getting him treats- so now everyone is wanting to get in on the action. You'de think this was a good thing, but having the labs anywhere near Finn causes him to totally lose focus and it becomes a free for all. You'de think they'de never had a cheerio in their lives!

I did try and go back to locking up the labs, but then they decided to bark and whine- again causing Finn to lose focus. What I've tried to do is just many many repetitions of the basics, one at a time- everyone does the sit, down, stand, they get one cheerios and we don't do it again for awhile- The labs are hideous food hounds!

Is 15 weeks too young to insist on focus even with the labs being obnoxious? I've never encountered this problem before, I guess because I've been smart enough to get new pups in the spring and summer! I know things will get better as spring approaches, but Finn needs to get some training on! He's becoming quite full of himself-

NOTE: It doesn't take much for me to whine about the weather, but this winter is kicking my butt!

·
Registered
12,628 Posts
How about taking Finn to a local petstore and work on his training there? I did that with Danny when I was working on his leave it command. I couldn't really toss a treat down and tell him to leave it without the other dogs rushing in to eat them! LOL

It really worked well.

·
Registered
3,393 Posts
Maybe putting the labs somewhere with quiet music, or crated with a cover, and give them stuffed kongs or such? Do you have someone who can be playing with them or cuddling?