Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
<-- Dixie
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my Dixie has a torn acl in her right hind leg. It must have happened snowshoeing or skiing with me. I noticed her limping on it a few days after so I'm not sure exactly how or when it happened. I took her to the vet on monday and was told she would need surgery. I was wondering what suggestions I could get from some of you who have been through this.

The price I was quoted for the surgery at the vet for just the ACL was $900 and for the TPLO was $3000. I would have to drive 4 hours south to Colorado. I am so stressed over what to do. I called the orhto surgoeon and said it's $91 just to have her checked out by him and then surgery the next day that could go as high as $3500. I can't do all this driving back and forth from Wyo to Co. day after day.

I'm just a poor college student with an $8/hr part time job. Dixie is my best friend and I want the best for her. She is literally all I have and I'm so upset about this. She is my hiking, backpacking, travel the world buddy but I think my only option is to do the traditional surgery here at my vet which they are worried about because she is 77lbs. So if anyone has had great success with just the ACL surgery I'd really like to hear about it.

·
RIP Sweet Skyler
9,306 Posts
Skyler had traditional acl surgery and was fine until he went to the Bridge. I do NOT know the advantages, if any, of TPLO over traditional surgery. I notice that you are obviously very active outdoors and Dixie goes with you on your jaunts. The one thing that the surgeon really, really stressed to me was limiting the amout of vertical jumping Skyler did in the future. I know that some members have had TPLO surgery done so am bumping this so they might advise.

·
Registered
43,252 Posts
bumping up for people that have had dogs go thru this

·
Magica Goldens
1,363 Posts