Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I plan on taking Lucy to a park tomorrow where they have a nice lake... Anyways, I want tomorrow to be the first time she swims. I know it might be a little late to teach her but I feel like the time has come. I do need some help from all you experts here, I have never done this before and I don't know what to expect. Do you guys have any advice as to how to go on and doing this, what is the safest way? I worry a lot. So any advice will be helpful, thanks everyone. Maybe you can share your personal experiences with your pups and their first swim. :)

·
Registered
12,755 Posts
If she's anything like Sam the first time we took him to the beach, she'll know exactly what to do!! She might be a little bit nervous of the water just because its a new thing... but with Sam, I just waded in a little bit and acted like it was the most fun thing ever... and then he just came running in! He was a little bit shocked at first especially when his feet weren't touching the ground, but then he got his little doggie paddle really well and he was swimming all day long.

Don't forget your camera!! These are water dogs.. swimming is instinctual!! I'm sure she will love it and have a great day. Have fun!

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If she's anything like Sam the first time we took him to the beach, she'll know exactly what to do!! She might be a little bit nervous of the water just because its a new thing... but with Sam, I just waded in a little bit and acted like it was the most fun thing ever... and then he just came running in! He was a little bit shocked at first especially when his feet weren't touching the ground, but then he got his little doggie paddle really well and he was swimming all day long.

Don't forget your camera!! These are water dogs.. swimming is instinctual!! I'm sure she will love it and have a great day. Have fun!