Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Max and I said our goodbyes last night. We slept in the foyer, my hand on him, his paw on me. I petted him all night thanking him for 12 years and 10 months of pure joy. I told him it was ok to let go. I told him I love him and will always love him. I told him I want him to be happy again. I told him I would never forget him.

We're putting him down in about an hour.

I've never had to deal with this before.

Maxwell is my best friend. He's helped me through depression, heartache loss of a great friendship. He was there when I graduated high school, started college. He listened to my crazy plans for life, was always waiting at the door with a 'present' when I got home, even if I was just across the street. He was there for the lonely nights, the happy family nights. He always knew my news first, whether good or not so good.

I can't believe this is happening. I never thought this day would come.
I know he has lived a fantastic life but part of me can't help but feel that I'm giving up on him. One minute he can't stand up and nearly laying in his own waste and the next minute he's laying down but wagging his tail. Is that a sign or is that me searching for a sign???

I don't want to lose him but I know he's old and suffering. There's no reason to put him through the stress of blood work, more medicine, more vet visits for something that might give him half the quality of life back when he can go now before he gets any worse. Right?

I've been preparing myself for weeks but it feels like it just now jumped on top of me. My stomach is a mess. I'm angry. I feel incredibly guilty. My eyes are nearly swollen shut from crying all night! I'm tired and emotionally exhausted. I need help. How do I cope with losing the one soul that was there for me when it felt like no one else wasn't? How do I cope with killing my best friend??? :confused::confused::confused:

·
Registered