Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Jamie
561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting, I've been reading posts for a while and love the great advice you all give. I'm looking to get another golden this year and would like some help looking at pedigrees. I've found a breeder that comes highly recommended, PrairieWyn Goldens. Now she has two females that both got bred this week and I wanted to get your guys' thoughts on the breedings. Below are the two potential litters. I've done lots of research and everything seems to be in order, but I'm still a newbie at this and wanted to get some experts opinions!

​INT& UKC CH & AKC GCH CH Hillside That's A Winner RN CGC http://www.k9data.com/pedigree.asp?ID=485556
"Buck"
X
Anthem's One Two Buckle My Shoe http://www.k9data.com/pedigree.asp?ID=584140
​"Ivy"

or

​WINGATE'S WE'RE GONNA NEED A BIGGER BOAT
"Brodie" http://k9data.com/pedigree.asp?ID=557155
X
PrairieWyns Shining On Me
"Harper" http://www.k9data.com/pedigree.asp?ID=522991

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Kristy
10,128 Posts
What are your intentions for your puppy? Why are you set on this breeder? Just curious? Is she in South Dakota? Or are you just liking the timing?

Personally I would pass on the first one (this is just me) because even though the parents have elbow clearances, when I look through the OFA stats on the sire side, close relatives, the grandmother is missing elbows yet has multiple siblings with elbow disease and has multiple aunts and uncles with elbow issues as well. As you trace back you keep seeing elbows. When a very popular sire has a lot of offspring tested and listed you will certainly see more issues, but it seems like that line has a consistent number with not as many dogs tested.

·
Jamie
561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·