Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I kinda sorta stole this idea form Poodle forums LOL, but I thought it would be fun to hear what you all have to say about it!
things I’ve learned include:
  • That skin allergies/itchiness is pretty common in Goldens
  • Goldens are one of the most overbred breeds
  • My Golden isn’t the only absolute weirdo of a dog 😂😂

·
Registered
63 Posts
I'm in the same boat as SteveRuffin...my first golden pup comes home in a few weeks and I wanted to prepare myself. This truly is one of the best resources for information about goldens. I've been using this page to search for information for the past 14 months even though I officially joined as a member in December. If I had to put my key takeaways into sentences, I have learned about:

• How to read clearances and assess the quality of a litter based on info on parents and breeder
  • What products to buy for my puppy
  • How to groom a golden
  • Training tips
  • Food
  • How to treat and prevent common health problems
  • Possible activities to get involved in with my golden
  • Travel tips
  • Other resources: books, golden retriever clubs, videos, groups, shows, etc...

And much more. The great thing about it is that as the years go on with my pup I'll be using different sections of the forum. There is so much relevant information on here for anyone at any point in their journey with goldens.

·
Kate
23,764 Posts
Going back to when I first joined this forum....

It's normal for dogs to have all black boy parts. They do not have a terrible disease just because of that. :D

Snow nose is not caused by snow or metal bowls or a virus. It's hereditary.

Bathing dogs frequently, even weekly - will help their coats grow + keep their skin healthy.

How to remove a tick correctly.

How to teach articles and go-outs to dogs.