Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I was hoping to get some suggestions for inside activities for my 1 and 1/2 year old golden retriever?

He has 2 walks (30-60 minute) per day and he is at doggy daycare 2-3 times per week, but I have university exams at the moment and I feel bad that often he has hours and hours of sitting around during the day because he is such an energetic little man still!

I can't really afford to put him in daycare every day of the week or the time to take him to the beach for a couple of hours every day (though he still gets his 2 leash walks).

I just need to find something that is stimulating that he can do by himself while I am studying for the next couple of weeks on the days that he isn't at daycare

Thanks for any ideas! :)

p.s he has a kong which he gets everything out of in a few minutes and he goes through huge bones in about 20 minutes!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
He is a handsome boy! I would suggest training. It really tires a dog out mentally and they really enjoy it! Maybe start up in a basic obedience class and eventually go into a competitive obedience class, agility class, tricks class, or nose work class. Then you can practice at home daily. I train my girl every day and it is time we both spend together that is enjoyable and bonding.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
He's so cute! Can you take a few minutes out from your studies to play some games with him? Maybe just take a 5 minute break and do watch, leave it, play attention games, get one of those little tricks books and play some of the games.

Mine keep themselves busy with antlers and stuff but when they were puppies and I had to leave them in the crate, I went to the pet store and got some of those interactive toys - they're shaped like balls or bottles, etc. you put some cookies or kibbles or bones in them and the dog has to work or puzzle solve to get them.