Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Relative newbie here...earned only a UKC CH on my prior multipurpose-bred boy, but my current pup has more conformation breeding behind him and I'm trying to figure out if and when to show him. He's also a multipurpose breeding, and just turned 12 months. I keep him lean as we do fair amount of training for obedience and he has jumping in his future. ;) I don't see him being a huge male - he's about 63 pounds, although he appears in standard for height (still haven't found a wicket, and I'm comparing him to other males in class). I think he's still very much maturing physically. My breeder is out of state and I'm thinking it's best to keep up with the obedience training and see how he grows. How do you figure out when (or if) to bring out your boys? How old is too old? TIA!

·
Kate
20,617 Posts
Just use a tape measure or ask around your training club for a wicket.

But as long as he's 23" - no worries.

And then there are products (bodifier, etc) which + dryer can make your dog look "bigger" than he is.

Now would be a good time to show him since you can take advantage of the puppy classes.

After he ages out of the 12-18 month class, you have to re-evaluate which class to put him in. And most people just go into Open then.

I started my pup at 6 months. But he was a good sized pup. A lot of people keep dogs out if they need to grow. <= Should say, I could not have entered Bertie in shows that early.

·
Registered
20,992 Posts
Somewhat depends on where you are located. Here in the Midwest the moderate dogs fair pretty well. Only show in large shows which will have judges that understand what a Golden is supposed to look like, as versus the small shows where they just put up the flashiest dog.
Ask a good handler (preferably one not looking for Golden clients at the moment) to evaluate him.