Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We got Sawyer the second last week of June and, as a teacher, I was almost finished work. We had no students that week so I was able to come home to feed him and let him out for a bit of a play and potty. I am off now and return to work on Sept. 1 at which point he will be 5 months old.

What do people who work do with their young dogs during the time they are away? We only get 1/2 hour for lunch and while I work close to home there wouldn't be enough time most days for me to get home, feed him and let him out to potty and then be back by the end of lunch.

Currently he is crated at night and during times when we can't be at home...but it's never been a solid 8 hours (well, at night...). I will have to leave around 8am and won't be able to be home until 3:30-4. I know that sounds like a long time and I'm starting to really worry about it.

Should I set up some area other than the crate where he has more room to move around? Like where or what..examples? Right now we have a large size PetPorter style crate and although it's fairly roomy it doesn't leave a lot of room for him to move around, have some water/food in there, toys, etc. Also, do you think it will set back his housetraining (he's pretty much there now except for the odd accident)? Any suggestions from those with experience? I'm just not sure what to expect from a 5 mo. old puppy.

thanks!

·
Registered
7,496 Posts
Leaving him in the crate is 100% fine. It protects him from getting into trouble or eating something he shouldn't and it protects your house.

Find a pet sitter that is bonded (re: insured) and get references from them. Once you've found the right person or company have them come at the half way point so the pup doesn't regress with housetraining.

·
Registered
2,286 Posts