Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I have been following it for a while now, but I finally decided to join in and say hello now that I know we are going to get a new pet Golden Retriever.

The litter of Goldens was born on 12/25 and we went to see them today and put in a deposit.
The breeder seemed to be home hobby breeder (parents registered with AKC. Mother is first time parent aged 15 months). He has 20+ dogs in his massive yard and generally breeds Goldendoodles and Retrievers some time. We paid $2500 for the puppy in SW Florida.

The breeder has asked us to choose a pup for us. Needless to say I have my current preference based on aesthetics purely, but I also want to choose one which I can interact with most. My questions are-
  • Do you suggest that I go and check the litter once every week to see which one seems to be more open to come to me and my wife? This could be difficult to do as others make their reservations as well, but I can push for it.
  • The breeders suggested date for delivery is around 6 weeks. I am going to push for him to keep them until at least 7 weeks with the litter and mother. Should I push for 8 weeks?
  • He will provide us with health certificate and AKC registration info for the puppy. Should I be pushing for anything else?

Here is a facebook link to the place where we got it from - PT Ranch - Home | Facebook

Thanks for all the help. I am sure we will need more. I have already bookmarked new puppy checklist threads :D

·
Registered
8,487 Posts