Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys i need help i really DO , My Vet says that my baby doesn't seem to be growing as much as she should at 5 months & has recommended me growth hormones to trigger the growth , but that's something i really can't digest & i think it won't good for my baby ...

the following is a video of my girl , i never have been a parent before
this is my first experience at having a pet .. please help me

Nishka - YouTube

·
Registered
10,524 Posts
Wow, I have never heard of giving growth hormones before. She does seem on the small side, but I believe a member here has a full grown male who tops out at less than 50 pounds. Some Goldens are just smaller than others.

Is she still growing on a monthly basis? I too would hesitate to give growth hormones but I am by no means an expert in growth hormones. Does the vet suspect some sort of issue with her hormones?

·
Premium Member
18,410 Posts
My personal opinion, she is a good weight and height for 5 months old, and she looks lovely. I would not agree to growth hormones, to me she looks perfectly fine for her age.

·
Registered
10,524 Posts
She looks cute, and just fine to me. Is she a bit high in the rear? That is often the case when they are still growing-they don't grow evenly and will sometimes appear high in the rear, and would be pretty typical of a 5-month old.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
well yes in d past 2-3 weeks she grown around 2-3 inches taller ..
the problem is i haven't seen the parents , the pet industry here in India sucks down to core
. there are no laws nor are there any checks done . you simply have to go on your vets word while getting a dog ..my vet says she's growing but not as fast as she should .. a small amount of growth hormones would help her get a growth spurt .. but I'm still wondering is that okay ? she is just 5 months old

·
Registered
169 Posts