Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to change my dogs' diet to predominantly raw and was after guidelines in doing so from raw feeders on the forum. I have been doing kibble in a kong wobbler for breakfast, but dinner varies...sometimes kibble with sardines, sometimes raw chicken legs on their own, raw meaty bones once a week as a chew toy/teeth cleaner. The reason I want to change is that bear's teeth are looking a little yellow. What is an ideal balanced raw meal that I can feed at night? I will be making it myself, not pre packaged. Thanks in advance!

·
Glynis
2,534 Posts
I have been feeding Harley raw since we got him 18 months ago. He went straight from very cheap kibble onto raw with no issues. He is 27 kg and can have 520g of food a day. For breakfast he gets a raw chicken leg. I get them in Aldi and you get 12 (2kg) for $7 (on special at the moment for $6.50). They vary in weight from 100g to 200g. I count them as 200g. At night he gets a meat patty which I make as follows: Either pet mince from the butcher or mince from Aldi. Must be preservative free, say about 2kg. Then I get either some liver, kidneys or heart from the butcher or whatever is on special at the supermarket and chop that up and add it to the mince, then process up some vegies in the food processor, say a large carrot, piece of broccoli, green beans, pumpkin, maybe an apple without the core (whatever I have) and add that to the mix. The butchers mince has bone in it. I mix it into 250g patties and freeze. He gets one a night with a fish oil capsule and a tablespoon of full fat natural yogurt. Sometimes give coconut oil instead of fish oil. He also gets about 5 eggs a week but I give them to him separately as a treat, raw, shell and all (he goes crazy for those). A couple of times a week he gets a tin of sardines for breakfast. Sometimes he gets lamb offcuts with bone in and once a month he gets a big bone. I read up a