Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, we have a 9 1/2 month old Golden named Darwin. He is about 75 lbs so far. I have been feeding him raw for the last 5 months and am just buying 5 pound chubs of Vital Essence in different types (chicken, turkey, beef and duck). It is the prey diet and the chubs are complete in nutrition with all bone, organs, meat in one. I add in things on occasion more for variety than anything else like green beans, oatmeal, coconut oil, raw eggs and currently a liquid multivitamin. I also give him raw knuckle bones and marrow bones several times a week just to satisfy his chewing urge.

I switched him to raw because he had constant ear infections, was lethargic, was becoming overweight and smelled awful. Not to mention the huge smelly poops. Since switching, he is wonderful and have had no issues.

The problem is the cost! We are spending approx $350 a month on dog food!!! What can I do to bring this cost down. I am considering going back to kibble. However, I think that would only save around $100 if buying a high quality kibble. Any thoughts?? Thank you in advance for your help!

·
Registered
10,499 Posts
What kibble were you buying before? You might just have gone from one extreme to another. I feed 5 adult Goldens for a little under $225, not including their raw bones which are about $34 a month. I feed NutriSource Adult during the warm months and 30/20 or a mix, during the winter.

I do think that $350 a month for one dog is outrageous. You might join a raw buying club and should save some money that way if you want to continue with raw. Pre made anything is expensive!

·
Ingrid, Now Mom to Brisby
1,111 Posts
Where are you located and where do you buy your raw?

For your pups weight, you likely should be feeding him app. 1.5 lbs of raw, complete mix ( raw meat, fruit, veggies, bone etc) Here various vendors sell patties or tubs at an average price of a little over $4.00 lb.