Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We plan on crate training when we get our puppy next month. My plan is to have the crate in our bedroom. The breeder said we should feed/water in the crate - so do we need to have another crate elsewhere in our house or just do the feeds in our bedroom?

(Our house is small so ideally we would just have the one crate but obviously will do whatever is best).

Also, when do you introduce a dog bed? Not until she is bigger and fully crate trained or is it okay to have one in our TV room for her to lay on while she is in the room with us?

Sorry if these are dumb questions but I'm new to this :)

·
Davina
392 Posts
I wouldn't feed and water in the crate.... you don't want them using the bathroom in their crate but if they have full access to their food and water while in their crate then they will need to go potty at some point while in the crate... may end up being REAL busy nights that way. up a lot to take them to go potty. not to mention if the food and water is in their crate then any time they want food or water they will have to go into your room to get it.... I don't like my puppy in my room when I am not in there.... to many places she could go potty and me not see.... so we leave our bedroom gated off or door closed... she only goes to her crate to sleep. (her crate is also in my bedroom like you plan) we have her food and water in the dining room..... best of luck.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I should have clarified that we would pull the water before bedtime to hopefully lots of middle of the night potty trips :)
I was thinking that we wouldn't want the puppy traipsing in and out of the bedroom without us during the day - thanks for the input!

·
Tracer, Rumor & Cady
10,683 Posts