Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
New to Puppy training
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

Just wondering how much have you guys paid to a puppy trainer? I contact my local vet and they have this program with a canine academy and its $570 dollars if you want the training at home and $470 dollars if you want the training in the academy. Is this too much? i dont know whats the regular price in the states. See, I live in Dominican Republic and ironically everything here is more expensive but like im new to this i dont know if this is actually the average price or is it cheaper. - The program is for two months - potty training, crate training, and basic commands (sit, stay, lie down, leave it, etc)

Thanks!!

·
Registered
2,299 Posts
Puppy or beginner adult classes here (my little corner of Louisiana) run about $100.00 for six weeks. Most of them cover the topics you mention. I have no idea if the prices you were quoted are average for the Dominican Republic; however before paying that much money for basic training I would make sure the classes are done in a way I agree with.

Does the Academy let you observe classes before enrolling your pup ?

·
New to Puppy training
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ill ask, but im pretty sure they will. i already taught sam (10 weeks) to sit and he's great at it- unless hes pretty excited or distracted. but the others commands im having a hard time. i have a question. is enrolling him in this training program really worth it? And what are the disadvantages and advantages of training with a clicker. i dont want to be with a clicker everywhere just for him to obey me.

Thanks for the quick reply!

·
Registered
2,299 Posts