Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
774 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have Duffy signed up for Puppy Kindergarten starting on January 13. He will be 16 weeks old.

He has had three rounds of puppy vax, with one final round to come 10 days after the kindergarten begins. I had asked my vet if it was ok for him to beging kgn although he would still have one round of vax to go and she said it would be ok.

She also asked if they required the bordatella shot and they do not.

What are your thoughts on this? (1) is it ok for Duffy to begin the class one round short of vax? (2) Should I hold him back for the next class that begins a month later? (3) Should I get him the bordatella vax even though it is not required?

Lots of questions - just want to do the right thing!

Thanks,
Kris

·
luv my goldens
481 Posts
I am not an expert but I think she should be fine. I started Sierra in puppy class at 10 weeks old.

·
Registered
13,492 Posts
I believe the earlier they start puppy kindergarten the better, my vet had also agreed.

I would definitely get the bordatella ASAP. If your dog is going to be exposed to anything, it will be kennel cough, and when they are young puppies it is harder on them.

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
I had Mac in a puppy kindergarten class at about 12 weeks old; she was the youngest pup; it was a small class (the instructor deliberately limits the size of the classes to 5, 6 dogs max). I knew the instructor very well, as I had attended both group and had done individual sessions with her. I did not get the bordatella vaccine.