Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I hope this isn't a stupid question, but I haven't been able to find a good answer. I'm going to be getting a puppy soon (yay!) and I'm trying to figure out what to do with him while I'm at work. I'm a nurse, so I do 3 12+ hour shifts a week, which is clearly too long to leave a dog by itself. Once he's fully vaccinated and fixed he's going to doggy daycare when I work, but they don't let dogs in that aren't fixed. That leaves a whole year where I don't know what to do with him. What do ya'll do with your puppies while at work?

·
Premium Member
18,456 Posts
The majority of dog day cares allow intact puppies under 6 months. Visit a few and check with them on their policies.

You will need to hire a pet sitter, and they would have to come by and take the puppy out every 3 hours max until he is 6-8 months old. You simply can not leave a puppy locked up without human interaction for longer than that. But you knew that already.

·
Dakota Katie River's Mom
1,684 Posts
Do you have any family or friends who would like to puppy sit when you work? I did that for a friend when I lived in Kansas, she would drop off her puppy on the way to work and pick her back up on her way home. I got to enjoy having a puppy around without all the work or the expense.

·
Registered
13,132 Posts
Do you do three day shifts, the off, then three night shifts? Or are you on a consistent schedule?

If you're on days, in addition to you taking him out last thing before your shift and first thing after, you'll need 2-3 puppy visits (one of those should be a big run-around outing). Then down to 2, then probably to one, though that feels long to me to leave a dog alone with just one outing. I'd hire a walker who also does puppy visits, and is experienced with pups..