Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Guinness is almost 4 months old now. We got him when he was 6 weeks old (yes, I know this is too young to take him home, but the breeder assured us it was fine). He was super loveable, playful, and is an amazing puppy most of the time.

However, I have been struggling with disciplining him efficiently. Since I am a full time student, I am at home with him everyday and my boyfriend works full time. Guinness has always been a bit more aggressive towards me - biting me harder than anyone else, jumping at me, etc. I have tried many different ways of disciplining him: timeouts, firmly saying no, standing tall up to him to show him I'm the boss, giving him a light smack on the nose, walking away, and toy replacement. We also take him on walks almost everyday.

Over the past few months, his aggression towards me has gotten worse. None of the discipline methods are working for me. If I walk away he bites the backs of my legs, if I stand up to him and say NO! firmly he barks and bites my legs and rips my pants. If I put him in timeouts, he just misbehaves again once he's out.

My boyfriend and I have discussed taking him to obedience classes, but other than that I don't know what to do. He does not misbehave at all when my boyfriend is home and listens to him immediately when he says no, so its hard for my boyfriend to understand the type of behaviour I get when he is not around. I have been brought to tears multiple times by the painful bites in my legs and his negative energy and aggression towards me.

Does anyone have any advice on how I can discipline him properly and show him that I am the boss? It feels like he is trying to dominate me and its a battle I deal with everyday, that usually brings me to tears (I usually leave the room when this happens, to try to avoid him seeing my weakness).

Any advice would really help!!

·
Registered
344 Posts