Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a professional Photographer and I would like to begin taking photos at Dog Shows. I understand that it takes a "special" kind of photographer to catch our dogs at their best(and the owners...:)) I also know...that I am just that person...I have an extensive photography portfolio, the ability to print on site at the event, as well as my own website for additional orders and products. This is not an advertisment...I just wanted to know if anyone could give me a starting point? Who would I contact? Or...does anyone know if someone or another company already has dib's in the New England area? Thanks!

·
Tracer, Rumor & Cady
10,683 Posts
I think a good place to practice would be at matches...
Call your local kennel club and see if they would have a problem with it...maybe they would????

It is cool to see photographers at field training ...(I think they have the most fun too!)

·
Humankind. Be both.
7,650 Posts
Do you want to do action shot of dogs in the ring, or the "win photos?" In my area, the "win photos" are almost always done by the same couple people. For "action shots" of dogs working on agility and obedience, try contacting local clubs that are hosting trials or matches.

·
Registered
22,569 Posts
I don't know where in CT you are located, but I know one training facility in Hamden that holds events. You may want to contact the facility. Just don't park in the Vendor parking space. The last sentence is regarding a personal experience I had. LOL

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks for the responses...