Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am new to the Golden life as well as this forum! I have a 12 (almost 13) week old GR named Cooper, and I was wondering how long it takes for them to get completely potty trained? I know it varies depending on the puppy, but I wanted to hear from some of your experiences! Thanks to everyone in advance :)

·
Registered
68 Posts
Welcome!

We didn't pick Foster up from the breeder until he was 11 weeks, and she had been working on it with him. He only had one poop accident in our house from the time we got him, and it was because he was sick. He did have a lot of pee accidents, mostly because they simply can't hold it that long when they are so little. I would say by about 4 1/2 or 5 months he was "fully" trained (only had an accident once in a while).

We brought him outside every half hour when we first got him, and every single time he went in the yard we would get excited and say "good potty." I still do that actually, and he's 16 months. :)

·
Premium Member
1,900 Posts
Our training school tells new puppy owners that, regardless of what you do or don't do, a dog will become reliably clean in the house at around five or six months of age. This was certainly true for my last golden retriever, who was between five and six months. In the case of my daughter's poodle, it took nearly a year. He understood what we wanted but chose not to do it (it's a poodle thing). My current golden never really had an accident in the house after the age of 12-14 weeks. However, he's an exception; he's just a quick learner. Also, I'm self-employed working from home, so it was easy to establish a regular routine.

If you aim for five to six months, you're unlikely to be disappointed.

Good luck.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·