Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone,

I apologize if I'm not doing this right. I have little experience with forums but we are turning to the internet when our vet is giving little to no information. We recently adopted a golden puppy from a rescue. Little information was given to us besides that he was AKC but couldn't be sold by his breeder because of his slight underbite. We knew he was a little undersized as well but we figured it was just from his rough start.

Fast forward to him being almost 16 weeks. He has undergone a couple treatments for Coccidia (one before we got him that involved hospitalization, most likely due to neglect :|) and he was still having loose stool/blood in stool. He also recently developed these patches of fur on his back, shown in the pictures. Almost looks like adult hair but it comes along with patches of severe hair loss. Also has a patch of fur missing from above his eye. Vet test for mites came back negative and he is on K9 Advantix II. Anyone have any idea what might be causing this?

Also, he is still a little guy (about 16 lbs at 15 weeks) and our vet brought up in passing pituitary dwarfism which obviously has us freaked out. Any info would be very much appreciated. I could go into much more detail if need be, I just didn't want to write a essay. We just want our guy to be as healthy as possible. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,698 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum. I've not had a lot to do with dwarf puppies, though I have come across a couple of dwarf cows. This article may be helpful - Dwarfism in Dogs | Canine Short in Stature
The information in there seems to agree with the symptoms you describe, such as hair problems. By the way, the photo of your boy's hair loss above his eye looks more like a scar to me. You did say he had a rough start before you got him. I'm very glad you have got each other now.

·
Registered