Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering getting pet insurance for our new golden puppy (take home date end of February). Does anyone have any experience/advice with different policies? We never took insurance out on our other dog so I am completely new to the idea and not 100% sure that we want to go that route.

·
Registered
633 Posts
We have had Trupanion insurance for our senior golden who passed away a few weeks ago and our young golden who is 1 1/2 and has had no health issues so far. Trupanion was outstanding to work with and very compassionate when our senior golden passed away. I have to say that getting coverage for our goldens with Trupanion was one of the better decisions I have made. We are getting another pup next month and I will enroll her with Trupanion as well.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Once you’ve found a company that seems trustworthy in terms of paying out on claims, you might want to contact them to see if they can give you a better rate (or better coverage) if you sign up the same day as your pup’s first vet visit. In my city Trupanion only offered 80% coverage normally, but they increased it to 90% because I started my insurance the same day my pup got a clean bill of health from our vet.

·
Registered
374 Posts
We have had Trupanion insurance for our senior golden who passed away a few weeks ago and our young golden who is 1 1/2 and has had no health issues so far. Trupanion was outstanding to work with and very compassionate when our senior golden passed away. I have to say that getting coverage for our goldens with Trupanion was one of the better decisions I have made. We are getting another pup next month and I will enroll her with Trupanion as well.
We also have Trupanion and they have been great so far. Used for 2 separate issues and they have paid very quickly and exactly the amounts expected.

Jules

·
Registered
247 Posts