Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!
I'm looking into Woodecoy's 2021 litter. My husband and I are excited to get our first puppy together. We're generally active. We go on hikes on most weekends and go on daily walks. We have a backyard and are just 15 minutes from the beach where we'll run or walk. I wanted to get your thoughts on if our current level of activity is enough to keep a golden who comes from a performance line happy.

"Loki (Rio’s Woodecoy BrewN Mischief JH WC) will be bred to Willie (Woodecoy Carpe Diem SH RN CA CGC WCX). We are expecting this to be a fun and talented litter with a pedigree full of health tested dogs with great longevity. Pups should excel at hunting and performance events as well as being biddable and easy to live with companions."

Also, if anyone wants to double check these clearances to make sure everything looks good, I'd appreciate it! I'm new to the OFA world.

Thank you so much!

·
Super Moderator
938 Posts
Hi there! I want to answer your question about performance dogs as pets :) I cannot speak specifically for Goldens, but I can speak to other breeds considered "high drive" and particularly, working bred dogs within those breeds. Exercise is important, but I found within Border Collies that all the exercise in the world isn't going to be what a dog who wants to work needs: a job. Whether that is obedience, hunting, herding, rally, etc, these dogs can make amazing pets and active companions for a family that wants to do something with them. Not that you need to perform, or compete, but giving providing ample exercise and giving the dog a job can make a performance pet an amazing companion. I can say that I raised two Border Collies in an apartment, and while difficult, I spent a lot of time practicing disc, obedience (the female LOVED training, we clicker trained all sorts of commands), did some simple nose work stuff, etc.