Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm on yet another information search!

I'm just starting to learn about dock diving and am curious to hear different people's opinions about it. I have heard a lot of people talk about how fun it is and have also talked with a few different breeders who believe it can be bad for the dogs.

Just curious what others think about it. And, if you are in favor, at what age would you be comfortable starting your dog?

·
They get it
4,446 Posts
I'd be interested in the answers you get from this post. I think dock diving would be a blast, and I want to try it some day. However the water landing, basically a belly flop, looks like it could be painful.

·
Humankind. Be both.
7,650 Posts
Quiz and I particpate and both really enjoy it. As for the belly flop factor, it's not really any different than dogs who leap into an in-ground pool or even those dogs with big, impressive water entries in the field.

What I WON'T do, however, is participate in the Super Vertical competition where the objective is for the dog to jump high up to nab a bumper off a hanging target. Too many dogs hit the water with their heads turned to one side or the other, basically twisting their necks. In my mind, that creates a much greater potential for injury as compared to when the dog is looking straight ahead and focused on jumping long not high.

·
Registered
4,934 Posts
It's a blast! We just started getting into it this summer with Tucker. We can't wait to really get back into it next spring/summer. Tucker loves the water, so it's the perfect sport for him and is a great way to keep him active during the summer months. We are supposedly going to be getting a Dock Dogs club in our area since there was such a huge interest from people who attended the events that were here this summer. It can become really addictive!

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·