Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
regspeir
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having just retired and with some time, I would love to enjoy my 7-month-0ld Cooper, our 3rd (and probably last) golden in some novel ways. My other 2 goldens were amazing friends and great family “pets.” I have NO experience or knowledge of obedience beyond beginning levels, no knowlege at all of agility, etc. Cooper, while AKC registered, etc. may have no particular breeding for any of these. Are there “competitions” or trials/levels of things we could actually have a chance of dealing (having success) with? Which is the least “stuffy” (or with the least haughty folks) and the most fun? So far I have done the typical - puppy class and now starting a next-level “manners 1” class at another facility. What troubles me is that the terminology and sequence/progression are so different. If I knew where I was heading, I sense i could be more efficient. Anyone have anything I could read or some advice, or is this silly and bound to lead to frustration?

·
Registered
8,164 Posts
Absolutely not silly. One thing I have found is that the more I train my dogs, the deeper our bond gets. And of my four dogs, only one was purchased with competition in mind, the rest were rescues or from BYB.

You might enjoy rally obedience, it is a less formal form of competition obedience that involves following a course of different obedience skills. And if you're able, get into a beginner's agility class and give it a try to see how you like it. My personal favorite is traditional obedience competition.

·
Registered
33,267 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Observing competitions is the best way to see what they are all about. Contact your local Golden Retreiver club and inquire about different events in your area.