Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,988 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Felix has reached the "Novice" level in his agility work. We've been working for about 13 weeks, with today being our first practice at this level and doing a full course. This is my first time handling him, as up until this point my partner had done all the work. Our schedules don't line up in a way that both of us can go to practice at the same time.

ANYWAY, I'm so proud of him. I've learned a lot about agility and just how much clever handling goes into really make a good dog an incredible dog. Felix has only been introduced to weaves within the last couple of classes and the only time he is exposed to the equipment is at class, but I'm hoping to put together a little course now that we have a backyard.

I was only able to get videos of the second and third runs, not the first, but I hope you guys enjoy watching a young Golden have fun jumping around the course. This is a new trainer and she told me that "He's fast, not a Border Collie, but fast, and when he goes he's not fooling around" and that the biggest thing with him will be to get super familiar with the obstacles and then add distance so I can control him without needing to sprint. There is a Border Collie in this class and it is a nut case, but holy cow its fast. It requires a completely different handling style than the other dogs in the class.

Here's the video :) Hopefully, I'll be able to post a video at the end of the course showing improvements.

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
Loved watching this and jealous of his confidence with the teeter. This was my boy's Achilles heel so you've done a great job with him! We have great fun too.

·
Registered
2,408 Posts
Very cool! I am doing this with my dog, Logan. I need to take my tripod out and get some video. Does Felix have favorites? Logan loves the A-frame and dog walk. The teeter entertains him too. I think agility is so much fun!

·