Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. Noob here. :wavey:

We're seriously considering purchasing a Golden for our family to enjoy/love.

I work full-time, my wife is at home and we have a 9 year old son and 7 year old daughter.

We have a fenced in yard, but the dog would be mostly in the house.

My mom has a lab/dachshund mix that my kids absolutely love and she is willing to care for our Golden when we are away.

We are in the Chicago area and have considered a rescue golden, but since this is our first dog I want to get used to having one before considering a TLC situation.

So that's where I'm at...now on to my question...

If we get a puppy, do we have to pay $1200+?

I've been searching for local breeders, but there's no prices. And the couple I have found are asking up to $2000.

Are these show quality dogs or something?

I kinda thought the $300-$400 was more realistic. Or are goldens in that range that price for a reason?

If there are any breeders in the Chicago area that could help or you could refer us to, I'd appreciate it. We're taking this very slow since we know how serious bringing a new member into our family is going to be.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
I am not a breeder and I dont live anywhere near Chicago but I wanted to say welcome!! Hunting for a new family memebr can take FOREVER!!! My personal observation on prices is that the back yard breeders tend to sell for the lower price ranges, but you may end up paying more becasue of health problems later on... When you buy from a good breeder you get a health certificate and have less chances of cancer, hip problems etc... We paid about $1000 for Maximus and rescued Leonidas as a puppy! Both are wonderful dogs!!

Anyway, I know I am not much help, and there are many breeders and more experienced golden owners here who will be of more help I am sure!! Congrats on the decision to get a golden!!! :)

·
Registered