Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. Just wanted to say hello. This is a great site. I am new to golden retrievers. I have wanted one for about 15 years. My best bud (Black lab/Whippet Mix - Daisy) passed away a couple of months ago. My wife and are expecting twins in April, so I thought it would be a year or two before I filled that void. During the recent ice storms here our neighbors Golden ran into our house. We have seen the dog several times, and about stole him on a few occassions - they didn't seem to be the avid dog lovers we were. They have 5 young children, and live a very busy life. The dog just seemed a little neglected. His only exercise came from the short walk from the house to the tree they chained him to. We called them to let them know we had their dog (Max - beautiful, registered golden age 2). They came to get him, and said they wish they could just get rid of him??!!! My wife and I immediately responded with "we'll take him" He hadn't been brushed in about a year, and is a little overwieght from the lack of exercise. He was already great with kids, and housetrained - that was our biggest hesitation with a new dog.

We have had him for three weeks now, and he is the best behaved dog I have ever been around. I brush him often, got a furminator and love it. We have also been on a daily long walk, and I have a large fenced in yard to play in as well. We couldn't be happier with him. He already looks better (as do I - lost 10 pounds walking), and with several training sessions we quickly discovered we had a fast learner. I will get some picks of him up soon.

·
Tracer, Rumor & Cady
10,683 Posts
Sounds like a wonderful match! Congratulations!

·
Owner of a Bailey Girl!
1,365 Posts
Wow you are a hero for taking in Max!!
Welcome to the forum and can't wait to see pics!!:wave:

·
Registered
12,755 Posts