Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I have a very active 5 month old Golden, Finley, that I need some advice on. Finley is a biter. He isn't biting out of aggression. He bites when excited and when playing with us. He hasn't broken skin, but has left many bruises. I've tried consistently with offering his toy, telling him "No bite!", and withdrawing my attention. None of this has helped. I don't know if it's worth mentioning, but he also is humping objects (his bed, stuffed toy, people) numerous times on a daily basis. I am not a novice with dogs. I have owned other furry family members over the course of 30 years of marriage - a Shetland Sheepdog, Beagle, and English Springer Spaniel, and now my Golden. None of these dogs have been biters. I am open to suggestions in getting Finley to stop his biting, especially once grandkids occur.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Hi welcome to the forum. My boy Tucker is 5 months also, he is a bit of a bitter when he gets excited also. He is pretty good about letting go though when it starts to get to rough, I just stop what I'm doing and tell him no bite. Then I give him some time to relax before we start up again. Try to stop all of your movement especially your hands if that is what he is going after. Then just turn your back to him until he's calmed down and you can resume playing. Think of it as a doggy time out, he should start to get it pretty quick especially since what he really wants is to play.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Hello, I too am new and my 4th old is also a nipper. I have been struggling to find was to manager since day one. The best cure so far for me has been 5 min time out in her crate. She even knows what 'Time Out' means now. Now she is getting older, sometimes she doesn't even leave the crate right away, when I open the door. Now the issue is solving this problem when we are out walking and she she goes nuts on the leash or jumps at me.