Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I had been lurking a bit and decided to join. I just got my very first golden last week. His name is Eli short of Elijah short for a ridiculous AKC name that I came with while attempting to include the kennel name :doh:

A little about myself...
I served one tour in Korea right out of high school and worked as an MP working with Belgian Malinois. These days I work as an emergency technician in Indiana while going to school part time to eventually go to vet school. In my off time when I had my dog I was active in the world of disc dogging as well as agility and Rally. I lost my last dog in August of last year he was an Australian Shepherd. This is the type of dog I grew up with, and coming into my own I began to realize that the temperment doesn't quite meet my lifestye. So about six months after losing my boy I began looking at different breeds.

I started doing research on the Golden, because though my job I meet a lot of pet parents who absolutely adore their goldens. Many of them swear that they will never own another breed. What sealed the deal for me was when I met a particular golden named Lincoln who preforms disc dog and agility. I got into contact with the local breed club and was referred to a field line breeder. This how I was matched with Eli.

So a few questions...
Eli has picked up on house training faster than any dog I've ever had. There has been 1 accident since he came home...he makes it all the way through the night no accidents. He sleeps all through the night as well. Is this normal for the breed? I'm in no way complaining haha, but it caught me off guard I remember growing up and training our aussies was a challenge.
Other question -- he is almost 10 weeks old...and Eli weighs in at 15lb this seems huge to me. Is he going to be enormous, or am I just used to a medium sized breed?

·
Registered
7,753 Posts