Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This is my first post here. My wife and I are considering a GR pup and we're doing our research. We've come across a breeder named Melanie Foster who has a litter becoming available in mid-December. The pedigree is listed here on K9data.com.

I am new to buying a purebred dog from a breeder, so I'm not completely confident in my ability to evaluate a pedigree. It seems that the sire is titled but the dam is not. However, in doing some Google research it seems that Melanie Foster is well-regarded and has bred several dogs that have titled in various areas.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated. I feel a bit awkward posting this to a public forum, but I think it's a good idea for us to get some assistance since we're new to this process.

Thanks.

·
the party's crashing us
4,473 Posts
Melanie is one of the top field/performance breeders in the country. If you are looking for an active companion or performance golden you will not go wrong with her.
Best of luck.

·
They get it
4,446 Posts
That looks like a very good working pedigree! Some awesome dogs represented.

·
Grumpy Old Man
4,616 Posts
Melanie tries very hard to produce nice dogs. You may want to ask her about the goals she had in mind when choosing this pairing. Discusing the pairing and goals behind it may give both you and Melanie greater insight when selecting a specific pup from the litter.

·
the party's crashing us
4,473 Posts
Firemark
vs.
Star Crowned

In America you could not find two reputable breeders breeding different kinds of goldens if you tried :)
Melanie is field trial all the way and Karen is European show pedigrees all the way. Two very different animals.
Both are well known and reputable and great choices if their dogs fit your lifestyle.
But entertaining getting a puppy from either is like saying, "I need a new car but I'm torn between the Prius or the Hummer."