Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Lottalita
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

This is my first time posting anything online here, and though i read most of the posts, I did not find an answer.

So first a little history:

I have had dogs my whole life, but they have always been small breeds, Griffons, poodles, Dachshunds, Pappillons, Westies.. the list goes on... so needless to say, I know how to read my dogs and can tell when there is something wrong.

So 2 days ago, I adopted a new puppy. The mother is my fiance's brothers Golden retriever and i don't know the father, but from what i understood it was a friends male golden retriever.
(additional information on the mother, she has a hip problem. doctors say it is very slight but not to let her get to fat to avoid strain)

So the adoption was not completely planned. My fiance wanted a male puppy, but for some reason or another, they gave away the only two males.
All the other puppies had found a home and the only one left was the little girl runt. (she is the only one out of the three runts that survived), no one wanted her and they were just going to give her to the couple who i know are not the best dog people, anyway, long story short, that night we took her home.

My little puppy is at least half the size of her brothers and sisters, and less fluffy (she looks more lab then retriever) she is not weaker or lethargic, has a good appetite and has a great character. when I took her to the vet, she said she looks healthy.

Questions:

As i am not sure how a large breed puppy should look and as she is the runt i have nothing to compare to.

SO here are my concerns,

I know she is small for 3 months, but that is normal for being the runt of the litter. so i am not worried about that.

First, she seems a little skinny (as i can feel and see her ribs) but has a puppy belly on her, also her back or butt area is thinner, her hips are more pronounced and she seems to have bow legs.