Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
3 days ago I got a new puppy, she was 4 weeks when we got her. I just realized it's actually odd that we have her at such a young age. However, she was already eating and whatnot when we brought her home. Currently she's a nipper/Biter and we are also working on housetraining her asap. I know she is SUPER young but I want to avoid having a 60lb out of control dog later. The only issue is she is so little and CUTE. It's so hard for me to put my foot down with her. I will gladly take any tips and tricks you may have. I bought her a play pen instead of a crate because I was unsure of how fast she would grow. Can I "crate train" her in a playpen? lol As you can see I need as much advice as possible. :p:

·
Mr. Wilson's mom too!!
130 Posts
i am not an expert there a a lot on this board than can help u more than me, but if it was me I would think she is too little to crate train... i would just give her a spot to potty in a penned in area... (i also think she is too young to be away from her mom, can she go back to the mom for a couple more weeks?)

·
Registered
639 Posts
Normally her siblings would help teach her bite inhibition. Goldens can mouthy under normal circumstances but without spending more time with her littermates you might have it worse than normal. Hopefully some folks here who have more experience with younger pups will have some good suggestions for you.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i am not an expert there a a lot on this board than can help u more than me, but if it was me I would think she is too little to crate train... i would just give her a spot to potty in a penned in area... (i also think she is too young to be away from her mom, can she go back to the mom for a couple more weeks?)