Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may be me being crazy, but we have two dogs under 2 who are not yet microchipped because they are not neutered. I wanted to contact the vet to get this done (just remembered), but is there any reason not to microchip?

·
5,142 Posts
I don't know of any reason not to do it. Maybe members with more experience with micro chipping will comment.

·
Registered
7,642 Posts
I chip all my puppies and if a puppy person does not want a chip they need to find another breeder. Probably 10 times over the years (I've been chipping pups for at least 15 years) a dog has been returned to owner due to chip. They might migrate if chipped too early (like before 8 weeks) but yours are plenty old enough... and IF you are able to give a shot yourself, you might look on reunite.com and just buy two there- it'd be tons cheaper. Your vet may even insert for you.

·
Super Moderator Leader
48,141 Posts
I can't think of any reason not to microchip, I have always chipped my guys.
It will help them to be returned to you if they ever get lost as well as it's a way of providing proof of ownership.

At my current boy's annual visit, I have his chip checked to see if it has migrated.

It's also really important to make sure you register your dog with the Chip co., and your contact information is current. Be sure to update it whenever any of your info changes. You'd be surprised how many dogs that get lost are chipped but when the chip is scanned, the owner's info is not registered or the contact info is outdated.

·
5,142 Posts
My vet offers specials during the year to get dogs micro chipped. They are the best!!

·
Registered
747 Posts
I post this, only as a point of information, since the OP asked about possible risks.
With that said, I chip all of my dogs and have never had an issue. They are scanned at their yearly exams..none have migrated (usually done at 4 months old)