Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wanting and researching and waiting for a a puppy for a VERY long time. I've posted before with my many concerns about crating a puppy and balancing work into the picture. As a nurse I have options for my work schedule and have come to the conclusion that I will have to sacrifice normal regularity for the love of a golden. We are picking up our little darling the 29th of January. I'm going to work the midnight shift for all of February, which means 12am - 8am. I will work every weekend. I will take a vacation day each week with my two days off together, so I'll have three days off together to be with our puppy. On the nights I work, my family will take care of the puppy. I'll get home around 8:30am and take care of getting the pup out, fed, out again and into the crate for our nap time. I'm hoping to sleep from 9:30am - 1:00pm. Then get up and outside and fed and play/exercise and walk. Pick up my son from school at 2:35. I pick up my older son from his high school which is a 40 minute one way ride, three afternoons a week, as we carpool with two other families. I will eventually get back to sleep around 7pm to about 1030pm. I'm thinking I will have to do this sort of arrangement until June and school is out. I'd love to hear what sacrifices others are making to make having a golden a priority in your life.
Thanks

·
Registered
18 Posts