Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Melissa
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stella is nearly three weeks old and is due home on October 9th! Very exciting! It will just be me and her versus the world, and I'm so happy.

When I go pick her up, my boyfriend will be flying in from Indiana and is planning to stay here for the first three weeks or maybe even month that I have her. I'm taking two days off work so I can have a four day weekend with her, first.

MY first concern is this. I am a teacher (first year, I'm 22) and I leave my house around 7am and, at the earliest, I am home between 3:45 and 4:15, provided I have no errands to run (which I always try to avoid and usually succeed at! haha) ... Luckily, as I mentioned before, baby Stella will be taken care of during the day by my boyfriend, given company and plenty of potty breaks for the first good 3 weeks to month of her life with me. But I am worried about how things will be once he has to go back to Indiana. I know it would be wrong to crate her for such a long time and at such a young age, and so far my only solutions are to have my mom come by during the day or send her to daycare 2-3 days out of the week. The thing is, if my mom gets this full time job she's been wanting, she won't be available for that. And puppy daycare can get expensive when you're paying all the bills by yourself. I thought about paying a college student to come by and spend a half hour or so with her for about $20 a day 2 or 3 days a week, but I still worry about her being alone. I know some people have done it before, and I'm hoping that on days where she has to be crated for a while the TV or radio and some toys will help keep her company for the time being. (I will probably usually leave a radio or something on when I leave the house anyway, even if it's just for a while.)

Otherwise, Stella will go EVERYWHERE with me! I will especially frequent restaurants that will allow pups on their outdoor patio. :)