Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
Éowyn is getting bigger by the minute - she's a little over 5 months now, and my guess is she'll be about 90 pounds full-grown. When she was tiny, I couldn't wait for her to get bigger so she couldn't make mischief under the bed anymore. Now that's she's getting bigger, I almost wish she was a bit smaller so she wouldn't be able to counter-surf! Curbing that behavior is a work-in-progress, but it's honestly proving harder to train my husband to not leave food out on the counter where she can get to it in the first place.

My husband grew up with a dog, but he's never had to be responsible for a puppy, and he's struggling. I did a lot of puppy-raising/fostering/training several years ago, so I have some good experience, and I had pretty much completed training my older girl - Arya - before my husband and I met. Arya is my Service Dog, so she's better behaved than most dogs he had been around. I think that may be part of the reason he's having such a hard time with Éowyn; he expects her to behave like Arya - like an adult dog (with SD training to boot). He's not used to having to change the way he does things in order to create an environment where a puppy can be successful. He's used to being able to go about his own business without worrying that the dog is eating something, destroying something, getting out, etc. I don't mean to imply that he's a bad dog dad, because he's not. He's just having a hard time adjusting. This difficulty is compounded by the piddling.