Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Playful Pup
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
It's been a little over a week since my wonderful Jake has passed on. It's been difficult for me to adjust, but I think I'd been grieving even before he underwent the exploratory surgery that revealed his stomach cancer. He was such a beautiful dog; my other half, our love, our protector.

Sadly, I think I knew what was coming. As a writer, I'd helped give my Golden boy a voice and helped him express how (I thought) he felt as he was going through his sickness.

I'd written this the day I'd brought him to the vet's office; it's something we actually did a few days before (sitting on the porch together, that is). Thank you for reading.

The Courage of a Golden Heart
by Kimberly Grenfell​

Patience. Little by little, one step at a time, we'll get you through this.

That's what she says, my alpha female. And I want to believe her; I really do. But I can feel it creeping up on me, seeping into my bones, making me old. It has for a while.

We sit on the porch together, and I watch the woods surrounding the house, sense the darkness edging in. Our breath plumes, white and chilled. I feel the cold more, even through my double coat; it nips, stings, tightens my muscles.

It never used to. Snow was my heaven, my haven, my release. I could run, play, lie down in a drift, roll in its powder with the glee of a Golden puppy. Now, the sickness has worn me thin, taken my warmth from me, makes me want to shiver.

But I don't, because I don't want her to worry.

We sit on the porch together, and I listen to the woods surrounding the house, hear the night as it folds in. My stomach wrenches, hungry and pained. I'm starving, yet I'm unable to hold down food—well, not much, anyway.