Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the future, you are going to start seeing a lot fewer entries in K9data in the future that are not verifiable in the OFA database IF the dog has produced offspring. Frankly, I am tired of dealing with them, and the database owner never intended for K9data to be the "source" repository for that information. So at least for the "Big 4", if it isn't in OFA.org, that information is going to start being removed from K9data as we come across it. For Canadian dogs that should have had hips and elbows done after OVC quit, the same will apply. We understand that the GRCC Code of Ethics does not require that breeders to wait until 24 months, but if the information isn't in OFA, we have no way to verify that information.

·
Puddles
3,971 Posts
I'm a little new to all this and not sure I'm following what you are saying. If info. is on OFA, it will no longer be linked to k9data unless there is offspring?
And GRCC Coe does not require breeders to wait until 24 months for hip & elbow? Or is it prelims will not be linked to k9data?

Sorry to sound so dense but confused.

·
Premium Member
16,423 Posts
For example, I did prelims on my 11 month old bc he had a soft tiissue injury of the shoulder, and I wanted to take a peak to verify the vet was correct and no elbow issue. I sent them to OFA on the "might as well" policy. He had Hips Good, Elbows normal, but OFA wont post at that age. I dont think I bothered to put it on k9data, but if I did,,that would be a good example of what is driving you nuts? (lol!). Checking now! Checked- nope never put it up, so just eye clearance that IS linked to OFA.

Reactions: puddles everywhere

·
Puddles
3,971 Posts