Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We lost our loving pet, Pumpkin yesterday. He was 12 years old. Celebrated his 12th birthday last month, Sept. 18th.
The last 2 months was the hardest for me. I knew the end of his golden years was coming to an end. He was limping. Unable to stand independently while eating. He eats and then walks around and goes back to eating until the bowl is emptied. It was the first sign something was really wrong.
I got him at 8 weeks old just right after I graduated from college. A companion I was ready for out of college. Picked him up in Peach Orchard surrounded by his parents, brothers & sisters. The first night I brought him home was Halloween night. I decided to name him "Pumpkin". He lived with 4 of my sorority sisters and we all loved taking care of him when we lived together.
A few months later, moved to Minnesota & got a job. My family at home instantly loved him and welcomed him to the family. Their first meeting was at the airport when they came to pick Pumpkin & I up. He was such an excited puppy, wanting to get out of the crate. The moment he got out, he ran around us and leaving a stream of pee on the airport carpet as we walk to the car.
I married in 2000 to Scott. We had a son, that came to the world 7 weeks early. The first few weeks at home with our son, he was protective of our son. Laying next to him by his bassinette & sleeping with us at nights.
Then a daughter came 3 years later and he continued to be such a loving dog to us protecting all of us under the roof.
I am Deaf. He was trained to be a hearing dog. A brilliant dog he was. Passed with flying colors. He knew I was Deaf and he always came up to me and hit my hand with his wet nose for attention or to inform me of the sounds (ie: doorbell, bed alarm, and of course to be petted and give him love).