Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question about Ichthyosis. I've been breeding for 35 yrs. I have been DNA testing my girls for Icthyosis before I breed them. I had a litter 6 months ago. Mother was clear by DNA testing. Father was clear by parentage. Both his parents were DNA clear. She had 9 puppies by C-section. She isn't a big girl and was packed tight. Her cervix had opened but she had no contractions and was getting to be overdue. So we did a C-section. One horn was stuffed with 6 puppies and 3 in the other. 2 of the puppies had very little fur and were smaller and had a very weak suck. Their skin was dry and peeling. I tube fed for a few days and their fur came in and they had a great suck. They developed the same as their siblings except they had dandruff. In fact their eyes opened a day earlier! At 7 weeks one stood out from the others in conformation and personality. She had been the favourite when anyone came to visit. They both still had the dandruff. I placed one with a family knowing that I didn't know how things would turn out. I kept one. I took her to a dermatologist and he found she had a lot of bacteria and yeast so was treated for that. So was her sister. They didn't improve so I had a skin biopsy done last week. I also sent her own blood for a DNA and it came back clear for Ichthyosis. I just got her skin biopsy results and she has Ichthyosis. I'm quite confused !! Has anyone heard of mutant strains turning up after all dogs concerned have had clear DNA testing done? Do you have any suggestions for the dandruff? I'm trying different shampoos. They are on extra fish oil. They are not itchy. It is just very flakey.
AnnJ

·
Kate
20,700 Posts
I've heard of two things -