Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
This is my first time posting on the forum so I apologize if things look a little funny. We just got word that our 5mo golden puppy "Tyne" has HYPERTROPHIC OSTEODYSTROPHY in his radius and ulna (forearm bones R > L). The vet said he also has a little osteocondrosis (OC) in his R humerus but thinks his limp (the reason we had him checked out) is due to the HOD and not the OC.

Luckily it seems as though Tyne only has a mild case and doesn't seem to be in much pain (besides the limp) and doesn't have the fever, vomiting, or diarrhea associated with more aggressive cases. However, it says the only real treatment is constant anti-inflammatories, rest, and time. And that it should resolve around 8-10mo when his growth plates seal.

Has anyone else dealt with this before? Or tried any other treatments for it (physical therapy, changing of food, etc..). We are having to give him sedatives to keep him calm seeing as a 5mo old puppy only wants to be wild- especially ours. And I can't imagine having to keep this up and discourage him from running and playing for 5 more months until he finishes growing (but of course we will to keep him healthy it just breaks my heart). It also makes me nervous to constantly be giving him sedatives and anti-inflammatories at such a young age-- as a physical therapist myself I know what this can do to our human bodies but there doesn't seem to be another option for him. Most articles I have read said the bouts should resolve in a week or so but then may come back 1 or 2 more times until he is 8-10mo but it seems to have been going on for 3 weeks now. Just wanted some insight from anyone who has encountered this!

Thank you so much!

<3 Tyne's Worried Momma

·
Registered
4,700 Posts