Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm trying to see if the pup will fit in a bag with airline restrictions of 8.25 inches (I will be flyiing with her on Southwest Air and not sure how strict they are with this policy) Thanks!

·
Mulligan & Samantha's Mom
1,263 Posts
I would caution against having a puppy shipped... is that what you're thinking? Or are you trying to fly with your pup?

I'm by no means an expert (so I'm sure you'll get better advice from others on here) but I believe that most reputable breeders do not ship puppies. I don't remember how tall Samantha was at that age but I'm guessing your size might work but will likely be a tight fit.

·
Hi, I'm Wendee
1,733 Posts
I like the hard carriers rather than the bag type for airline travel because the puppy would be more protected from being banged around if there was turbulence. Also you won't have any problem with accidents leaking outside the carrier.

·
Mulligan & Samantha's Mom
1,263 Posts
Just found your past thread. Congrats on your new puppy and cheers to you for going through such lengths to bring it home. Best of luck!

·
New Mommy
6,137 Posts
I am going through the same thing. The 8 1/2" carrier seems like it will be very tight to me too. Where are you flying your puppy from and what airlines are you using?

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks for the feedback. Should have clarified I'm going to pick her up from LA to SF (Southwest) so only an hour ride. Just afraid she won't fit in the bag!

Does anyone remember how tall their goldens were at 8 weeks?

·
New Mommy
6,137 Posts
The bag says it will hold up to 20 lbs. That's not too long of a flight, I am sure you will be fine. Are you flying with him/her? I couldn't find a thread with any more info:confused:

·
Registered
608 Posts