Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to the breeding arena. I have had one litter in the past and have plans for another one in the future. My question is how do other breeders "get the word out" that they have a litter planned before it is on the ground? I realize once the litter is born, you can post pics and get interest that way. My last litter was only of 3 and all pups were spoken for right away. But, I only had a couple additional people lined up before these were born. I haven't been in the show ring in a while which if I was out there more, I know I could probably generate interest that way as well. I hear people making critisms about people that advertise on some internet websites or the newspaper and I am thinking, well what is the right way to do it then? I just recently (2 months ago) set up a website and have had a few inquiries that way, but I think that is mostly by chance. What do other people do? TIA.:wavey:

·
Registered
10,557 Posts
When I first started out, my litters were bred with my mentor, so she helped in placing them as she had a lot of contacts. By the time I was breeding on my own, I was fairly well-established.

When I moved from South Carolina to Wisconsin, it was almost like starting over again, but being a kennel club and a specialty club member was very helpful.

Now, I find that about 1/2 my puppies are sold to previous buyers or to people recommended by previous buyers, and most of the rest through referrals from breeder friends. Specialty club websites have also been good referral sources. The AKC site has been helpful as well, although I always put my price in the ad so people know right away that these aren't $400 puppies. I have found a few good homes through newspaper ads but honestly most of the responses weren't people I wanted to sell to and most of them didn't want to pay the price I was asking.